Home News



Public Notice

The Lee-Russell Council of Governments (LRCOG) is applying to the Alabama Department of Transportation (ALDOT) for an administration and operating assistance grant under 49 U.S.C. Section 5311 of the Federal Transit Laws, as codified. The operating grant will provide financial assistance for public transportation service for the residents of Lee and Russell Counties during FY-2017. The service currently operates Monday through Friday, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. CST. All residents, including wheelchair users, must schedule service 24 hours in advance. Fares are ($2.00) per one-way trip; elderly persons ride for $1.00 with a LRCOG Senior ID per one-way trip; children under (5) ride free.
LRCOG is also submitting an application to ALDOT to receive funding for Mobility Management and Job Access and Reverse Commute (JARC).  The purpose of this application is to continue and expand the current JARC program in Lee and Russell Counties, serving low-income and disabled DHR, Achievement Center, and Auburn Housing Authority consumers who need assistance getting to and from their jobs and other activities associated with securing a job.
Copies of the detailed service description and project budget may be obtained at the transit system office, 2207 Gateway Drive, Opelika, AL between 7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
A public hearing will be held on August 5th at 9 a.m. in the Conference Room at the Lee-Russell Council of Governments for public comment.
If there are questions or comments or if information is needed in another language or alternative format, contact:

Mike Cannon
Transit Director
Lee Russell Public Transit
334-749-5264 Ext 240

Lee-Russell Public Transit System does not discriminate against any individual on the basis of race, color, or national origin.



The 2010 Census Population Data is now available for Lee and Rusell Counties. Please click the links below for more information.

The Draft 2009 Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy for Lee & Russell Counties is now available 2009 Draft CEDS For more information or to make comments please contact Barbara Scott or call 334.749.5264 ext.237



Lee-Russell Council of Governments
2207 Gateway Drive Opelika, AL 36801-6834
Phone: (334) 749-5264 Fax: (334) 749-6582
1-800-243-5463 (1-800-AGELINE)